Chakra Basics

Subtle energies flow in and out of us through the chakras, also known as the psychic centres. The spine is like a stem and the chakras are like flowers growing from this stem, through the body, and out a few inches in front of the body, in the aura. Our thinking and our health are inextricably linked with the flow of energy through the chakras, which makes an understanding of them very important.

The Seven Major Chakras:

English name Sanskrit name Approximate location
The Crown Centre (also: The Brahma Chakra) Sahasrara or Brahma-cakra Above the head
Christ Centre or Third Eye Ajna The forehead
Throat Centre Vishuddha The throat
Heart Centre Anahata The chest region
Solar Plexus Centre Manipura Just above the navel
Sex Centre or Sacral Svadhishthana Between the base of the spine and the navel
Base Centre or Root Muladhara Base of the spine

Stones for Each Chakra:

  • Crown chakra stones: Selenite, Clear Quartz, Amethyst, Diamond
  • Third eye chakra stones: Amethyst, Purple Fluorite, Black Obsidian
  • Throat chakra stones: Lapis Lazuli, Turquoise, Aquamarine
  • Heart chakra stones: Rose Quartz, Jade, Green Calcite, Green Tourmaline
  • Solar Plexus chakra stones: Malachite, Calcite, Citrine, Topaz
  • Sacral chakra stones: Citrine, Carnelian, Moonstone, Coral
  • Root chakra stones: Bloodstone, Tiger’s Eye, Hematite, Fire Agate, Black Tourmaline